Tags

, , ,

This recipe can be found here:

http://allrecipes.co.uk/recipe/23033/slow-cooker-salmon.aspx

For one person…

  • 1 small onion, chopped
  • 4 mushrooms, chopped
  • 1/2 red pepper, chopped
  • 1 teaspoon margarine or butter
  • 120ml vegetable stock
  • 1 teaspoon chilli powder
  • 40g rice
  • 1 tablespoon light soy sauce
  • 1 tablespoon lime juice
  • 1 garlic cloves, crushed
  • 1 salmon fillet
  1. Sweat the mushrooms, onion and red pepper in a pan for a couple of minutes in the butter. Put these ingredients into the slow cooker along with the vegetable stock and chilli powder and cook for 30 minutes on high.
  2. Add the rice to the slow cooker, stir and cook for further 15 minutes. Meanwhile, mix the soy sauce, lime juice and garlic in a small bowl and lay the salmon in the sauce, top side down, and leave for 15 minutes.
  3. Once marinated for 15 minutes, pour the sauce into the slow cooker and lay the salmon on top to steam. Cook for a further 1 hour.

This was lovely… the salmon especially!  I made a few changes to the recipe above… I don’t know if it’s just my slow cooker, but I checked it 45 minutes into the last hour and only just caught the rice before it completely turned to mush!

I didn’t have any peppers, used only half a teaspoon of  hot chilli powder (less would have been better for me), chicken stock instead of veg stock, lemon juice instead of lime.

My slow cooker didn’t need to be on high at all, so next time will use the same timings but on low.  I marinated the salmon from the start.  We only had basmati rice, will try long grain next.  Oh, and I doubled the quantities of rice and stock for one person.

