Tags

, , ,

http://marisworld.co.uk/index.php/2012/10/19/italian-fish-stew-slow-cooker-recipe/

Ingredients
2tbsps olive oil
100g smoked pancetta or diced lardons
3 cloves of gralic crushed
1 tsp chilli powder (more if you like a kick)
1 tin of chopped tomatoes
200g white fish – I added two pieces of salmon to my stew as well, I removed the scaly skin first though ;)
1 bag of frozen mixed seafood
1 x 200g pack of jumbo prawns
200ml white wine
2tbsps fresh torn basil leaves
salt and pepper to season
I had about 200g of fresh home grown tomatoes from the garden which I threw in too
 
Heat 1 tbsp of oil in a frying pan and fry off the pancetta to colour, add the chopped garlic to soften. Add the tin of chopped tomatoes and chilli powder and heat through for a few minutes before adding to the slow cooker set on low.Heat the remaining oil in the frying pan and fry the fish off for about 1 minute on each side. Add to the slow cooker.

Pour in the white wine, add the defrosted seafood and prawns, add most of the basil holding back a little for decoration and season well. I added my home grown tomatoes chopped up too

Cook for 2 hours on high setting or 4 hours on low

Serve in bowls with a basil leaf with crusty bread to accompany and mop up

*********************************

I forgot to get pancetta so used a chunk of chorizo we had left!

I didn’t do any of the prep… just stuck everything straight in the slow cooker!